Call To Prayer.

I know this post may offend some of you, but I honestly don’t care. If it bothers you, don’t read it.

I am a firm believer in the power of prayer. With my back issues last year, I know just what it can do. Initially I had a fairly speedy recovery, then even my first setback wasn’t horrible. The only time my back started to cause severe pain after the initial accident was over Christmas break when I had the means to lay around and recover, and eventually consider the surgery that saved me from all that pain. I know that the only reason I did so well was because I had so many people praying for my recovery. Now my best friend’s dad is in need, so I felt it was only fair to pay it forward and hopefully, make some kind of impact on his recovery.

When Rae told me her dad was getting surgery on Friday, I knew the issue was serious. I asked her to write a short description that I could forward on to my grandma to share with her prayer group. Now I feel the need to post it on here, so that you may all understand the severity of his problem.

Quick anatomy lesson for you.

“My dad has had neck pain since he was in highschool due to an accident. He had surgery to correct the problem before, but now the pain has flared back up again so badly that it has forced him to to turn back to yet another operation. Although he’s getting up there in age (he will be 71 in December) he has always been active with golf and different social groups. But over the past month the pain has gotten so bad that he has had to give up all of his regular activities. The surgery will consist of fusing together most of the vertebrates in his neck. The surgery is pretty risky, and even if everything turns out well, he will still never regain the mobility from his cervical spine. On top of this problem, there is something even more pressing… When they x-rayed his neck the doctors noticed a bone spur that was pushing on his esophagus. The spur needs to be removed before it grows big enough to inhibit his breathing, but the problem is, is that if they try to remove the spur, there is a chance that he will never be able to swallow again. in that case they would have to put in a permanent feeding tube, and I just cannot bare the thought of that for my dad, he’s just too young for that.

Sorry, I know I’m rambling, I just need to get it all off my chest. Last time my dad had a similar neck surgery done the doctor thought he had nicked a nerve and accidentally paralyzed my dad. This operation just holds so much risk, and its killing me to watch him go through this. He is my rock, absolutely my everything and I dont have a clue what I’ll do if something goes wrong.

His surgery will be at noon this Friday.”

So please, keep Rae’s dad, Ray, in your prayers and thoughts. Send all the positive vibes, karma, whatever you want, his way that you can.

Lesson for the Day: If you send positivity out into the universe, it will come back to you.

Leave a Reply

