Summertime Sadness.

I love happy accidents; I messed up while spray painting, but I like the effect. Oh, how crafty I am.

Yes, I love that song by Lana del Ray. However, that is not what this post is about. This is about that horrible depressed feeling that comes on about this time every summer. That dreaded realization that this time of “relaxation” (I say that because I’ve been working my ass off way more than I did this past school year) is coming to a quick close. All those plans you said you’d make? Times running out. Before long, I’ll be packing up my room once again, whining about how I never got that beach trip in, or that weekend to Pennsylvania.

Though I am sad about summertime ending, I can’t wait for the fall. Back to the lifestyle of work hard all week, party all weekend. Get to see my friends, be social, and have people who will willingly go to the gym with me. It’s heaven. Not to mention getting away from the stress of living with a boy going through puberty. Hello, bipolar syndrome! My often sweet, considerate brother has turned into a bitchy, whiney, crying mess this summer. What hell puberty is. I’m so glad that’s forever in my past. When I have children, I may just send them away for those horrible years. JK, I’ll suck it up. But that doesn’t mean I won’t consider it.

So here’s what I’m getting at. Summer is quickly coming to a close. Or as my mom would remind me, still has five weeks left. So guess what? It’s time to get at it! All those plans you wanna make? Put them into action. Today, I finally did some of the crafts I’d been staring at on Pinterest all year and let me tell you, I feel so satisfied. Not only did I get some creative energy out, but now I have art for my new apartment. So go with the flow, be spontaneous, do random fun things, be outgoing, try new things. Summer is almost over, so make the best of it so you can’t look back with regrets. That’s what I’m planning on doing and if I can do it, so can you. In the words of Katy Perry, “no regrets, just love”.

Lesson for the Day: Make the most of this summer, make the most of each day. You never know when it’ll be your last.

Leave a Reply

