The End.

Tomorrow, I will be heading back to the lake to start my summer.

Thursday, I will officially be done with my freshman year of college.

It’s so weird to think that it is already over. The worst part is that it had to end just as I was really getting the hang of things and starting to really enjoy myself. Since I have no exams today or any exams that require studying beforehand, I figured I would use this time to reflect on the past year and my upcoming summer.

And yes, I’ve seen people’s food get messed with. Don’t piss people off who make your food.

This summer… I will finally be making money again, hopefully hosting and serving. I want to make bank so I don’t have to keep relying on my parents. I also want to come back to Boone over the summer to secure a job for the fall. I’ll be able to see all of my high school friends again. I haven’t seen Jacqueline barely at all this year, and I seriously miss her biting sarcasm and all the jokes we have. I can’t wait to get back on the lake, get some sort of color. I am going to dye my hair, that’s exciting. I will hopefully be getting into the best shape of my life. I’m going to the beach in a week. My college friends are going to come see me. Two of my closest friends from this year live in my area, so I won’t have to miss them too much. I’ll get to spend time with my family and Bemis. Best of all, I’ll be heading to Pennsylvania to see my family.

Ours aren’t even that nice. We JUST got shower heads two weeks ago.

This past year… A lot has changed. I went from being strong to herniated two discs in my back, then when I was almost all the way recovered, it came back. I ended up going under the knife and coming out miraculously better. Though not a lot of people would say it (mostly because they suck), I have come a long way socially. Even the last few weeks of high school, I didn’t venture outside my group to talk to people. Now I can hold conversations with strangers, as long as they initiate it of course. I learned I can survive without my parents. I learned to be independent. I learned that I don’t need a boyfriend to be happy. I learned that if you really don’t like how a person acts, you don’t have to be around them. You don’t have to spend time on a friendship with someone who is completely different. People grow and they change, it’s just the way of life. I also learned that girls are disgusting human beings (two words: communal bathroom). I learned that even if you really, really dislike a person at various moments, even if they are terribly inconsiderate and rude, you can still have fun with them. I really don’t know how to put it all into words, but this year was a huge change (as college is expected to be) and, I don’t know, I’m just really proud of myself. Lame as it sounds, those first few weeks were horrible. I wanted to cry, a lot. I was miserable, I wanted to go home all of the time. But then it got better.

The weird thing for me is that although I really do love my family and where I live, I am not super ecstatic about leaving. I would love to stay another week or two. Correction: If I lived in an apartment, I would love to stay another week or two. However, I am over the dorm life. Completely.

This is where I spent the last ten months. I wouldn’t change a thing.

Lesson for the Day: If you can, I completely recommend living on campus your first year of college. Also, don’t live within an hour of home. You need distance in order to grow on your own, which is what college is all about.

Leave a Reply

