Improving?

How Judy spends her weekends... on the bed, on Tumblr.

Anyone who has read my blog before knows that I don’t get along with my roommate too well. Here’s something surprising. She seems to be improving. I think that now that she is making more friends, their positivity and happiness is rubbing off on her. No, she doesn’t go out on the weekends. But that’s her choice. She’s starting to seem to be really trying to get along with me. The other day, she was going to watch a movie in our room with her friend and then when I came back she said they could watch it somewhere else. I told her I didn’t care, I would just be researching. She asked me at least two more times if I was sure it was okay.

At least our showers aren't this bad...

Even more shocking than her new attempts to be nice was last night. Let me give  you a bit of history, the girls on our floor are disgusting creatures. They leave clumps of hair on the shower walls, tampons in the toilet (turning the water red), and piling tons of their trash into the communal bathroom trash can (meant for feminine products). Every weekend, we are out of toilet paper by late Saturday or early Sunday morning. It’s just all disgusting. This past Friday, I walked into the bathroom to find someone had put an entire roll of toilet paper into the toilet. Wasteful and gross. Then I come back Sunday morning to find someone shit on top of the toilet paper. Not flushable, of course. Meaning, this would be a job for Ms. Kathy, our sweet 70-something cleaning lady. Not okay. To make matters worse, by Sunday night we had a leaning tower of Pisa forming out of our trash can. Another job for Ms. Kathy. So as I am sitting on my laptop, working on a paper, I see Judy hop up and go to the bathroom. A few seconds later I hear the trash bags moving and see her emptying the trash. Yes, she had a negative attitude about the girls we live with (“look at the kinda people we fucking live with”) but she did a good deed.

This is nothing compared to last nights pile.

Lesson for the Day: Never write someone off completely. You never know when they will surprise you.

Leave a Reply

