A Little Closer To Home.

Families; Can’t live with them, can’t live without them.

We've all seen Teen Mom. It's not all rainbows and butterflies.

Growing up with young parents has had both it’s ups and downs. One of the major downs was the preconceived notion from all other parents that mine weren’t as smart or well off as them because they had a child at seventeen. Then also, with private Christian schooling, came the judgement of being born out of wedlock. However, I love how close my parents and I have become because they better understand me and my generation due to their age. My best friend’s parents are in their sixties, complete opposite end of the spectrum. Though I adore her mom, she has trouble understanding some aspects of our sense of humor, pop culture, and some things that other generations more easily grasp. While on the other hand, my mom and I have almost the exact same sense of humor and can talk about anything. With my parents being so close in age, I’ve been able to have many experiences that almost none of my friends will. For example, about a month ago, my boyfriend, best friend, and I went and met up with my parents at a club. They even were okay with us partaking in some mood enhancing beverages, if you know what I mean. I never imagined that one day I’d be letting loose at a club for the first time with my mom at my side. It was one of the most fun nights I’ve had in a very long time.

How much turmoil and conflict are you willing to put up with?

Another one of the big downsides is the ups and downs of their own relationship. While I love my boyfriend very much, I know I need to think long and hard about making a life long commitment after watching my parents. They have done the best that they can, but being together for so long and from such a young age (they started dating at fourteen) is a recipe for drama. Sometimes I wonder if when they look back is it really worth it? Well, taking my brother and I out of the equation of course. I just wonder, if it weren’t for my mom getting pregnant, would they have stayed together? Would they have stuck out all the hard times? I could ramble for hours on this topic, but out of respect, I’m choosing not to. I just felt like I needed to write something after the past few days. Why is it so hard to love someone?

Lesson for the Day: Love one another as you love yourself. It’s harder than it sounds.

Leave a Reply

