Let It Snow.

In the High Country today, we are experiencing some actual snowfall.

How normal people react to snow.

Now, it’s not exactly sticking to roads, but it’s covering, coating, and lining every tree, shrub, and building. I couldn’t be more excited. I love snow. I’ve always said how cold weather isn’t worth it without snow, and here it is, my beloved. It seems like I’m not the only one with these feelings as I see people everywhere playing, snapping pictures, and making statuses like “SNOW! yay!”

But then there’s Judy. I have still yet to see her conscious since I returned yesterday. I drove through miserable rain and dense fog to find our room dark and gloomy, with her passed out beneath the blankets. I left, dropped my car off, went about my day, and didn’t see her again. I woke up this morning, still no Judy. Then after my 12:30 class, I come back to find her sleeping. I run an errand, prepare myself for my 4:00 class, and return to again find her sleeping.

Usually, her sleep habits while frustrating (I hate living in semi-darkness) don’t bother me too much. But today, I realized something. I can’t live like this all winter. Outside the window, instead of sun pouring through, I find pure gray. In my room, semi-darkness thanks to the light from my desk lamp. I’ve heard that a lot of freshman get depressed and sometimes even transfer out after these months. And I believe it.

Judy's reaction to snow.

My mom had a problem with the winters when we lived in Pennsylvania. It’s a real mood disorder – seasonal affective disorder, aka SAD. I’m sorry, but I cannot stand the thought of suffering from this. I watched my mother, and I don’t want to go through that. Some of the common symptoms are: increased appetite with weight gain, increased sleep and daytime sleepiness, less energy, loss of interest in work or other activities, social withdrawl, unhappiness, and irritability. Uh yeah, that sounds like hell. For me and all those around me. Maybe Judy has it, I don’t know. I’m just afraid her possible depression is going to start rubbing off on me. I don’t want to be SAD. I want to be happy, carefree, focused on studies, etc.

Dear World, whatever shall I do? I want a new roommate, but I love where I live. The girls on this floor  are fun. And I am conveniently placed right next to the bathroom. Should I consider re-assignment? Or tough it out? Hmm… decisions, decisions.

Lesson for the Day: Don’t let weather or people get you down, stay positive. Keep yourself entertained and busy. Focus on those you love and who love you.

3 comments
  1. pjman109 said:

    Another suggestion is to buy a lamp with an incandescent bulb and turn it on. If Judy want to sleep all day more power to her, but let it be known: During the day there shall be light, be it lamp or sun. During the night, there beith lamps, tis the way of the world. Thou may sleep but be warned, no one needst govern a fuck for thou has a roommate.

    • Yes, but if she uses her lamp at night it’s too damn bright. Judy and I agreed in our ‘roommate agreement’ that it was lights out at 11. Somehow that changed. But yes, I agree. I need light during the day, especially during the winter with that horrendous gray haze that accompanies snow.

  2. pjman109 said:

    Uh no she doesnt follow rules, so you dont!

Leave a Reply

