Rambling On.

My weekend at home did not go as expected; not necessarily a bad thing, but not too good either.

How I feel after this weekend.

First of all, my back still hurts. It feels like standing up straight takes at least five minutes. It doesn’t, of course. But I have to slowly ease myself up like I’m walking for the first time. The muscle relaxers can only do so much. I also ate a ton of junk every single day, so now my stomach feels bloated and just icky. I need to learn how to tell myself that no, I do not need that extra spoonful of chocolate chip cookie dough. As delicious as it appears, the after effects are not great. Due to the previous reasons among others, I found myself being super bitchy and short tempered. It seems when people don’t take my back issues seriously, I snap. But I shouldn’t. I mean, I didn’t take little Miss Pannon Shopoff’s* knee issues seriously, in fact I believed she milked them for all they were worth. I do have to mention that I did overhear her give someone the advice to “milk it, that’s what I did”. Then a day later, her knee brace came out. Just saying. Back to my point, people don’t understand this kinda thing until they’ve been through it themselves, so I need to learn to calm it down. Not everyone is lucky enough to reach old-lady status at eighteen. Last but not least, I got absolutely nothing done on my term paper that’s due Wednesday. Keep in mind, I also have two tests and two group projects to work on. Ugh.

So, pretty much coming back to school was the last thing I wanted to do. But here I am. And as I was sitting there, reading through the library books I got weeks and weeks ago for this paper, I received a text message from my roommate.

Judy: “Do you mind if my friend stays the night?”

Me (in my head): “Yes, I abso-effin-lutely mind. It’s a Sunday night, I feel like shit, and I have a paper to write.”

What I actually said was, “That’s fine as long as you guys aren’t too loud, I have a lot of work to get done and I’m trying to go to bed by eleven-ish.”

Ugh, time to BS a paper.

Then, as I always do, I texted my mom and boyfriend to vent. My mom came up with this great response, “What would you do if lesbo stuff happened?” I laughed so hard, I quickly forwarded it to two of my friends. Amanda’s initial response, “Hahahahahaha. OMG, I thought that was from Judy!”

I died laughing. That text made my night.

Now, I go back to work on my paper with a grin on my face. I love my friends. I love my family. How did I ever get so lucky?! All I have to do is make it through the next two days and I’m home free, quite literally.

Lessong for the Day: Speak your mind. You don’t have to be a bitch, but say what you really think.

*Name changed for sake of privacy, but let’s be honest, we all know who that is.

Leave a Reply

