A Little Bit Deeper.

I always swore to myself I’d never start a blog.

But then the other day, as I was telling my mom some new found frustration with my roommate and her bizarre, inconsiderate behavior, she said, why don’t you start taking notes? Hmm… interesting thought….

My all-time favorite book.

You see, I feel I was blessed with a particularly interesting family, who a majority of which could write a memoir that could perhaps outsell James Frey or Augusten Burroughs. I’ve loved witty memoirs ever since my mom introduced me to David Sedaris. Holidays On Ice will always be one of my favorites. I love hearing people’s sarcastic commentary on events in their life. It completely draws me in.

Anyways, back to my family… My grandmother is a nurse, something she will tell you the moment you meet her, and she has seen some strange cases in her many years. Stories she often tells my mom and I leaving us shocked. My uncle, Richard, has had a rough time these past few years but keeps a smile on his face as he tells me of the days he worked at a summer amusement park and even the horror stories of his ex-wife. Now onto my parents… My dad was a crazed teenager, delving into every sort of drug, even had a short stint as a skinhead, and had wild friends with more stories. My mom, of course, ran with his crowd until she got pregnant at seventeen. She’s a brilliant writer and my role model. She somehow managed to keep her head on straight through teen pregnancy, losing her oldest brother just months before my birth, keeping my dad in line (as much as she could), and still managing to go to nursing school for a time. I can’t even begin to start on the lives of their friends, including one who goes by the nickname “Houdini”.

So when my mom suggested I take notes, I knew she meant like she does. She plans to one day write a book. Every now and then, she’ll write a page or two. In fact, she wrote me the sweetest recollection of the time she found out she was pregnant with me until my birth for my seventeenth birthday. I know that whenever she finishes it, that it will be a success.

Therefore, I decided to put my ‘notes’ online. Not somewhere hidden in my room where my roommate could find them if she chose to snoop. Hopefully, my day to day thoughts, frustrations, anxieties will turn into something worthwhile. If not, well then I have an online diary of sorts to look back on.

Leave a Reply

